Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Away
Away
19 mai 2010

My hospital… a place to die? :-o

 

AUSTIN_HospitalOn Monday, I went to (another) orientation day, which was held this time at the hospital, where I will obviously work quite a lot once we have patients. At least, the quadriplegic patients are all linked to that hospital.

We had a lot of different presentations… Welcome, security, patient’s will…

But we also had a little talk on the history of the hospital…

Which is when I heard for the first time that, the Austin hospital was, at first a hospital specialized in incurable diseases…

Incurable… hmmm… not curable… ? Yes…

Basically people would come to the Austin… to die :-o

I never thought this could exist in such a close period…

And, it seems that it was even written some crazy message at the entrance, substantially meaning “be ready to leave your life behind”…

Actually it’s also because it was for incurable disease that now I can work with quadriplegic people, the hospital gained an expertise in diseases such as quadriplegia and was even the biggest hospital in Australia that would treat cancer for a while…

Anyway, I thought it was quite interesting to look back on a history that also influenced my present :).

Have a good day.

 

Publicité
Commentaires
Away
Publicité
Newsletter
Derniers commentaires
Archives
Publicité